Ministerial list: Meet the 7 Women Nominated by Buhari



As some of the persons to join his second cabinet, President Muhammadu Buhari nominated seven women from the northern and southern regions in Nigeria to become ministers. brings to you the names of these women chosen by President Buhari and brief profiles on each of them. Sharon Ikeazor from Anambra state is the founder of the Legal Aid for the Poor Scheme in Nigeria. Ikeazor became a national woman leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in 2013, The Nation reports. Added to this, President Muhammadu Buhari in 2016 appointed her as the executive secretary of the Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD).

Zainab Ahmed, born in Kaduna and a graduate in Accounting from Ahmadu Bello University, was the executive secretary of the Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI). Apart from being made the minister of state for budget and national planning by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015, she was appointed in September 2018 as minister for finance. Gbemisola Saraki, a younger sister of former Senate President Bukola Saraki, was elected into the House of Representatives in 1999 to represent the Asa/Ilorin west federal constituency in Kwara. Gbemisola was also elected to represent the Kwara state central senatorial district on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2003. A staunch supporter of President Buhari and the APC, she was also instrumental for the victory of the ruling party in the state during the last general elections. Ramatu Tijjani-Aliyu, known as a philanthropist from Lokoja, has a degrees in Urban and Regional Planning, Public Administration (both in Nigeria) and a D.PA in Public Administration, Honoris Causa, from the Commonwealth University in London. Ramatu, who was an APC national woman leader, is the president of African Political Parties (APP).

Sadiya Farouk has a Bsc in Business Administration (Actuarial Science) from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna state. Sadiya was the national treasurer of the Consumer Protection Council (CPC) from 2011 to 2013 , and was a national treasurer of the APC between 2013- and 2014. Added to the fact that she was made a member of the APC’s presidential campaign council before the 2015 general elections, she was the Honourable Federal Commissioner (HFC) of the National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI) in 2016. Mariam Katagun, a graduate of Ahmadu Bello university, has been a permanent delegate to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) since 2009. Mariam was a deputy director at the ministry of education and from 2001 to 2009 served as the secretary-general of the Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO. She was also the deputy chair of the board of governors of the Commonwealth of Learning (COL). Pauline Tallen was appointed by former President Olusegun Obasanjo as the minister of state for science and technology.

Pauline became the first female deputy governor in Plateau state in 2007 and is an APC board of trustees member who was honoured as woman of the year for her contribution to Nigeria at the 10th African Icon of Our Generation Award. She is presently a board member of National Agency for Control of Aids (NACA). Meanwhile, reported that Gbemisola is one of the 43 ministerial nominees submitted to the Senate on Tuesday, July 23. gathered that Abubakar Sidq Umar, a special assistant to Senate president Ahmed Lawan on new media, unveiled the names of the nominees on Tuesday, July 23.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here